YouTube, Convergence and Remix * Post due by 8am on 11/20/14

SO MUCH EXCITING STUFF ON YOUTUBE.

I was talking to you all about how this is probably the part of the class that changes the most every time I teach it.  Back in the day, when I created this class, there were a few basic types of YouTube videos. They were:

Instructional/Tutorial

Video Blogs (“vlogs”)

Parodies

Supercuts

And new creative content… I showed a bit of Lonelygir15 but there are TONS of examples of this, including The Guild, which I showed last week when we were talking about gaming and The Misadventures of Awkward Black Girl, which got Issa Rae hired to write a comedy for HBO

Anyway, in the years since I started teaching this class, there are SO MANY other kinds of YouTube videos, including two kinds that I absolutely DO NOT UNDERSTAND. They are

Haul Videos

And Unboxing Videos

WHAT IS EVEN HAPPENING IN THESE.

What am I missing/forgetting?  Let’s try to think of genres of YouTube videos. What are some you can think of? What do they do? Who are they for?

I’m also thinking a lot about the idea of Remix Culture (which I think is best represented by artists like Girl Talk and “video essays” – particularly those of kogonada, who I love:

Let me know if you can think of other examples of “remix” as defined in the readings.

14 Responses to “YouTube, Convergence and Remix * Post due by 8am on 11/20/14”

  1. mbugua2209 Says:

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_9syE2UP11E………………this link is my example of a remix.Though am not quite sure if i had a clear understanding about this remix.

  2. I do not understand remix at all. I have seen stuff like Girl Talk and the awkward black girl …. I like them both. I guess because it’s straying away from the average TV show and it’s making it more relatable. I really enjoy stuff I see on YouTube because it’s real. Like in the first video with the tutorial we know that it’s a person just like the rest of us and that it’s not a professional.



  3. I think that both of these are extremely hilarious! They are both to entertain and it seems like the audience could range very widely.

  4. I like to watch the ‘How-to’ videos because I’m a crafty person. However, when I am on the lookout for new electronic devices, I would like to know the reviews on them. One of the tech guys here at Donnelly actually told me about this channel. It is Marques Brownlee and he is a tech reviewer. It is informative for someone who wants to know if what they are buying is worth it.

  5. I found a genre of YouTube videos on the net called Fail Compilations.I think it targets audience of all ages since its main purpose is just humor.

    http://www.hercampus.com/school/fsu/7-addicting-youtube-video-genres

    To some extend i believe it is also a remix on its own because the person who made this compilation must have taken the scenes from somewhere else.

  6. armstrong251994 Says:

    One of my favorites is the Epic Rap Battles of History. They have a lot of different versions. This one has to be my favorite one of a remix I believe.

    https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=NV7xJ73_eeM


  7. The YouTube videos I enjoy watching the most are the funny ones.
    Maxibady is hilarious and very entertaining. I think it’s target is to obtain as many shares, likes, and comments. The guy in making the video seems like a normal person with actor experience. I really enjoy the jokes he makes and he also reminds me of a couple of friends. Other videos I watch on YouTube are those that shows me how to do something. For example, hair cutting, how to change a tire. YouTube also comes in handy when looking for any kind of homework problems. But my favorite reason for using the website is to listen to music videos.


  8. I embed the wrong video and this is the one i wanted to share.


  9. The YouTube videos I enjoy watching the most are the funny ones.
    Maxibady is hilarious and very entertaining. I think it’s target is to obtain as many shares, likes, and comments. The guy in making the video seems like a normal person with actor experience. I really enjoy the jokes he makes and he also reminds me of a couple of friends. Other videos I watch on YouTube are those that shows me how to do something. For example, hair cutting, how to change a tire. YouTube also comes in handy when looking for any kind of homework problems. But my favorite reason for using the website is to listen to music videos.


  10. The YouTube videos I enjoy watching the most are the funny ones.
    Maxibady is hilarious and very entertaining. I think it’s target is to obtain as many shares, likes, and comments. The guy in making the video seems like a normal person with actor experience. I really enjoy the jokes he makes and he also reminds me of a couple of friends. Other videos I watch on YouTube are those that shows me how to do something. For example, hair cutting, how to change a tire. YouTube also comes in handy when looking for any kind of homework problems. But my favorite reason for using the website is to listen to music videos.

  11. The youtube videos I enjoy watching in my free time are makeup and hair tutorials, because it teaches me new techniques. The videos usually go step by step and they list all the products used.

  12. one my free time i watch a variety of youTube videos, vlogs, how to, news, or song parodys. recently I’ve come across a genre of videos and i don’t know how to describe them other than movie break down. i enjoys this type of videos because they show “everything wrong” with popular movies.

    ….ohh and also this Epic Rap Battle

Leave a Reply

